Robert’s Ma’s Meatloaf

Robert's Ma's meatloaf

My friend Robert shared this recipe with me, and I think it’s one of the BEST meatloaves I’ve ever made.  I like to make the individual loaves and get the topping really done. Yet, the meat is still very moist and flavorful.  SIMPLE to make in a big mixer.  I use a large scoop to divide the meat mixture for shaping with my hands, and I bake the loaves on a piece of heavy duty foil on a baking sheet. 

Robert’s Ma’s Meatloaf

1 lb ground beef (not too fatty)
1/3 lb. sage sausage (or ground pork plus 1/4 t. sage)
2 slices bread, crumbled
saltines, half a sleeve, crumbled
3/4 cup milk
Two eggs
1/3 cup finely chopped onion
1/3 cup finely chopped green pepper

Glaze:
1/3 cup ketchup
1/3 cup bbq sauce
2 T. mustard
1 T. brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix ingredients in a bowl, then form into a loaf (or 6-8 individual loaves), and bake 45 minutes. Meanwhile, make the glaze.
Spoon glaze over the meat, and bake for another 15 minutes.

ENJOY with mershed perderder* and some veggies! Serves 6.

(Mershed perderders=mashed potatoes, that’s from the ‘ermegerd girl’ that Robert and I love)

My friend Robert
My friend Robert
3 thoughts on “Robert’s Ma’s Meatloaf”

  1. Reblogged this on In Between Moderation and commented:
    For anyone who is cooking along. Here is this weekend’s cook along recipe. I figured it doesn’t have too many ingredient and they seem to be stuff most of us might already have. Looking forward to hearing how this works out. Hope you will cook with me

Leave a Reply

