Lifelong learning

I am having fun loading my new blog with tons of recipes.

It started a few years ago, when I went to visit my Aunt Emily, and she had a new computer and was taking a computer class.  Aunt Emily is a gracious hostess and we had some yam muffins with orange icing.

https://snailfungus.wordpress.com/2015/09/07/yam-spice-cake/

I raved about the muffins, and she printed out the recipe, which she’d saved in a folder on her new computer.  She decorated the top of the recipe with a picture of a yam plant. The page printed at 8 1/2 X 11 inches, and she slipped it into a page protector in a 3 ring binder.  I loved her system and immediately began copying it.  I looked for opportunities to make recipes that didn’t have photos yet, so I could take a picture and print it for my binder.

I have been doing this for several years now, and I have four binders full. My food photos are sorted into a file called ‘Food Images’ and I keep it handy on my laptop Desktop.

You might be skimming through this thinking ‘oh big deal! Any child knows how to do all that!’

But, Aunt Emily is over 80 and I’m almost 60.

My son was using a mouse from the time his tiny little hand had the fine motor skills to maneuver it.  But, I wasn’t.

Lest I come across as bragging, I want to point out that this is my first blog and I am still figuring out the most basic of things…and I have a problem.

If you look up at the top of the blog to the ‘menu’ you will see a heading labeled ‘Recipes.’  But if you hover your mouse over it, the menu opens into such a long list that you can’t see the whole thing at 100 percent zoom.  I added the menu on the left just tonight, and with careful mousing, you can indeed open each recipe, but it takes finesse.

How do I fix this problem?  I am imagining a future, when I am on vacation at a relative’s house in North Carolina.  We are all talking about food (a popular topic my my family).  Someone says ‘I sure wish we had Aunt Helen’s recipe for those pickles she makes’.  Then, I’ll be able to say, ‘Oh, I have it on my blog.  I’ll pull it up for you on my tablet now.’ And then do that.  It will make everyone so happy, and me so popular.

Is this another one of those premium services?

Good wishes,

Char

2 thoughts on “Lifelong learning”

Leave a Reply

